Home > News > Computer Troubles

Computer Troubles

About a few weeks ago, the computer I use refused to boot, instead producing six beeps at start-up. A look at the manual for the xw4100 indicated either a bad video card or motherboard. So my dad and I diagnosed the problem. We were pretty sure the motherboard was the source after that was the only thing plugged in. We were about to purchase a new computer when we found out a problem; we actually need a video card inserted. Looking back to our archive of computer parts, we pulled out an older video card and that worked fine.

Interestingly, when we put that video card into the computer for our tv, it didn’t work on the VGA signal, but it worked great on the DVI signal, and now we can watch HD through our computer. However, that is another story.

This whole thing happened a few weeks ago, perhaps three. We purchased a new gaming video card and it seemed like the end of the story for a while.

Yesterday morning, when waking up to finish a project for school, I discovered the same fatal error of a video card. Luckily we have two computers. I had a printed copy and rewrote all my text and printed it out.

When I got back from school and experimented, my dad and I noticed that when using the VGA signal, it didn’t work. With the DVI signal, the computer is able to live on for as long as we need for a new computer to be delivered.

Our hypothesis is that somehow, the motherboard has been corrupting the video cards. This is a somewhat new development though. Up until three weeks ago, we’ve never needed a new video card. The video on our computer is now pretty screwy because of some motherboard related problem. I tried to open a video, and the whole system just rebooted. It didn’t even shut down.

So if there’s any techies out there who can shine some light on the situation, feel free to comment on this post and subscribe to the blog!

It is too late to save our computer. So until our new dx7500 arrives, our old computer is in ‘zombie mode’. It’s supposed to be dead, but it is still living.

This is the new computer we'll be getting. It has 10 USB ports!


The dx7500 looks like a good computer. With 10 total usb ports and its sleek black color, I hope it can do itself justice. It has an added bonus. Instead of running laggy Windows 7 on it, we get Windows XP through a downgrade license.

Edit: The reason why I’m posting this is because the video card is virtually dead, thus I cannot edit any videos or render them. At the moment I cannot post any videos.


Tell a Friend

Categories: News
  1. Pi Star
    January 30, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    What do you mean by consumer based?

    It’s a good point about the memory, and not being able to reach a Mac’s hardware. But in the three and a bit years we (provines) have had a Mac, we’ve never had to service it or reach the hardware.

    Wouldn’t it be easier to save your video to an external drive, rather than replacing the terabyte drive every time it runs out of space?

    • January 31, 2010 at 12:28 am

      It’s just for people who want a computer. While I admit it is fast and powerful, it is a bit too gimmicky for people who want a more structured computer system. For example, the common Mac mouse does not support a right click, and must be done using control + click.

      Also, I don’t like the way the folder structure is, and how hard it is to rename a file quickly.

      Perhaps it’s just my adjusting to a Mac I don’t like and how confusing relearning all the hotkeys are. I’m still going to use a Windows though.

      • Pi Star
        January 31, 2010 at 5:55 pm

        It was a little difficult adjusting to the control-click, but now I have trouble switching back, so that may just be the act of switching in itself.

        While I do prefer Konqueror (KDE browser) to Finder, I like the folder structure all right. It actually strikingly resembles the folder structure on XP in my experience, so I don’t see anything wrong there.

        I used KDE and Linux mostly before I used the Mac, so I don’t know what it’s like adjusting from Windows. Maybe adjusting from Windows is harder.

        If you already have the expensive Windows programs, that’s definitely reason not to switch.

    • January 31, 2010 at 12:33 am

      For another point, all the programs I’m using (ones that have been purchased) are Windows only. This means that if I just decided to switch, I’d have to buy all the programs over again, or find substitutes if they aren’t made for Macs.

      The Adobe Suite CS4, for instance, would cost $600 to upgrade. This seems like a lot already, but it would cost $1600 to buy the product again, which I would need for a Mac.

  2. Pi Star
    January 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Get a Mac.

    • January 28, 2010 at 4:15 am

      Macs aren’t as good as Windows, I mean at least XP. If all XP computers broke, I’d have to go back in time.

      Macs are just too consumer based, like if you just want a computer to do some basic things. A lot more programs are available for Windows, but it is harder to find programs for Macs. Plus, just buying a Mac is more expensive.

      I also notice that, while making videos, I seem to run out of memory on my computer, I can simply open it up, and place in another terabyte drive, and then I have more memory. A Mac however, is completely closed. You can’t just replace a sound card, or a video card, or even change any drives.

      If you aren’t that good with computers, then sure, get a Mac. However, if you really want your computer to do something, get Windows (XP)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

